Monday, August 11, 2014

Income & expenses - July 2014

Normal account income
€3243 Salary
€4 Return from a television service I stopped earlier this month

Normal account - expenses
€998 Rent + utility bills + state tax
€422 Gas + car insurance + state car tax
€350 Groceries + personal hygiene + cash withdrawals (usually spent on  groceries as well)
€296 Fun money (going out dinner, theater, sports, etc.)
€99 Payment to a student loan
€93 Cable TV + mobile phone + fast internet access 
€89 Medical insurance (covers full cost of any hospital visit for example)
€15 Clothing
€8 Usage of bank account + credit card

Savings account - in & out
€541 - Remaining money at normal account at salary pay day goes to savings account.
€800 - This went to my brokerage account as I try to invest $1000/month for now.

In comparison to last month, we went out for dinner once, instead of 4 times.
This reduced the fun money with about €100, which is huge to me.

We also baked our pizza at home, instead of take away. These home baked pizza's even tastes better!
Great way to save some money.

Thanks for reading!


  1. Not a bad month at all DFS. I noticed you also have a student loan like myself. I am hoping to get rid of this soon so that I have even more money to invest. The rest of your expenses look good. Rent is a little high but I am not sure what the average rent is for where you live so I can't really compare it to anything. What is that state tax? Keep it up! Look forward to hearing from you!

    1. Hi DM,

      Thanks for your comment!
      I have 13k left on my student loan, but the interest is low nowadays. I figured I'd better start the snowball of DGI, instead of removing this loan entirely. As I have no mortgage, this is my only loan.

      Rent is pretty high. If I buy a house, my mortgage could be up to €300 lower than my current rent. However, my appartment is very close to the city center of the 4th biggest city of the country. This is very useful for my girlfriend who travels by public transport. That's why I cannot move yet.

      We have 2 state taxes.
      1. State tax for the usage of a car. This amount varies based on the fuel used by the car and its weight. My car costs about $120/mo.
      2. State tax for cleaning water, keeping the country safe of the flooding danger and creating and maintaining sewers. This costs about $20/mo.

      Best wishes, DfS

  2. Investing about €1,000 is also my goal! Seems like you have it on lockdown. Reducing your eating out habits makes a big difference every month.

    I also saw you're just starting out like me! Looking forward to see your portfolio grow alongside mine!